I may be the CEO but ultimately I work for you

Geraint-2015Each month I look forward to ‘welcome day’, where I get to meet and welcome new staff to our organisation. One of the things I like to talk about is relationships. CM Health is a fantastic organisation and we are on a great journey of positive change and improvement. However to make change happen you need to have a relationship with someone.   It’s hard to have a relationship with someone you don’t’ know and although I would love to personally meet everyone who works here, with over 6,500 staff it’s a big challenge. But there are ways I can establish a virtual relationship, which is why our blogs (CEO, Team Counties and Ko Awatea) and social media channels are so important, not only to share information but to stimulate conversation.

Relationships are about being transparent, which is why I use Ko Awatea as my office, when I’m on the Middlemore site. Truth be told, I also like telling people I have the biggest office on site.   If you see me at Ko Awatea, come over and say hello and talk to me about any issues, good or bad that I should know about.

The other favourite thing about my job is spending time working in departments and services, however I will only go if I’m invited. While I obviously can’t perform brain surgery, I have worked as a clerk in Emergency Care and helped out on the Wards. In fact, it was in a Ward that I managed to spill a full bedpan down my front. I discovered this was very good for staff morale!   Even if you don’t have a job for me, I’d love to be invited for a cup of coffee and a chat. It’s really important for me to walk in your shoes, just for a minute and hear what’s important to you. I truly believe staff working on the frontline knows what works well and what doesn’t. It’s my job to find out what the problems are and work with you on the solutions.

As I tell people at welcome day – I may be the CEO but ultimately I work for you. My job is to create an environment where you can do your best and if I’m not doing that or achieving that I’m not doing my job properly, and you need to tell me that.

There are many ways you can get in touch.   As discussed earlier you can pop over for a chat, invite me to spend time working in your area or drop me a line via my blog or email: Geraint.Martin@cmdhb.org.nz.  I’d also like to announce I am establishing myself in the Twittersphere, so please follow me @CEO_CMH.

Last but not least, I welcome your feedback about the topics we are covering in my blog and ideas for how it can be improved.   I look forward to hearing from you.

Geraint

asset_f_logo_lg   g+29   Twitter_logo_blue   YouTube-icon-full_color   Lindedin_logo

You can now follow my blog and stay updated with our organisation via social media.

 

 

Author: Geraint Martin

Geraint Martin was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Counties Manukau DHB in December 2006. It is one of the largest District Health Boards in New Zealand and services a population of half a million. He has significant experience over 30 years in national policy & in managing both primary and secondary care . Previously, he was Director of Health and Social Care Strategy at the Welsh Government .He authored a radical 10 year strategy of reform, including the successful “Saving 1000 lives” Campaign.Until 2004, he was CEO at Kettering General Hospital & had held senior positions in London & Birmingham.He has worked closely with clinicians in improving clinical standards,patient safety,chronic disease management & managing acute care to reduce hospital demand.In NZ, He has promoted clinical quality and leadership as central to improving patientcare. This has led to a significant increases in productivity and access, whilst maintaining financial balance. CMH has completed in 2014 a $500 m capital redevelopment programme, the largest in New Zealand. A central part of this is the establishment of Ko Awatea,the Centre for Innovation and Research which will underpin CMH as one of the the leading health systems in Australasia.In 2008, he chaired the Ministerial Review of Emergency Care in New Zealand, and in 2013 was an member of the Expert Advisory Panel on Health Sector Performance. Geraint has an MSc in Health Policy from Birmingham University .His post-graduate work has focused on health economics and Corporate Strategy . He is adjunct Professor of Healthcare Management at AUT and Victoria University, Wellington Elected in 2006 as a Companion of the Institute of Healthcare Management, previously he was an Associate Fellow at Birmingham University.He is is Chair of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, a member of the Institute of Directors, on the Board of the NZ Institute of Health Management & previously the Board of The NZ Health Quality and Safety Commission.

Leave a Reply

