A heroic deed

This week I want to introduce Biace Poasa, an amazing young man, who works as an orderly at Middlemore Hospital.

A few days ago Biace and his family witnessed a particularly traumatic accident, when a car hit a pedestrian crossing a busy road. While all of us hope to never encounter a situation like this, Biace, without hesitation leapt in to help, performing CPR which ultimately saved this young lady’s life.

He is indeed a hero, in every sense of the word and I’m proud to have him working at our organisation. Below is his story.

I was just driving home with my family, when I spotted a young lady, crossing a busy road. She had boxing wraps on, so I assumed she was on her way to the gym. While she narrowly managed to dodge one car, I couldn’t believe it when she ran into the path of another car, travelling in the opposite direction.   There was no time for the driver to react and all I could see was this girl fly into the air and land hard on the road.

It was horrific to watch and after the shock subsided, my first instinct was to try to help, anyway I could. I somehow managed to park the car and rushed back to see is she was Ok. I felt for a pulse and saw that she wasn’t breathing. That’s when my CPR training began to kick in – thank goodness I had taken a course three years ago.

My strength comes from my faith and I remember praying to God to help me save this young lady’s life.   I have sisters of my own and I remember thinking she has a family who will be waiting for her.

After a few compressions she started to cough – that was a good sign. When I rolled her into the recovery position I noticed a big gash on her head. One of the road workers gave me his tee-shirt to try to stop the bleeding, while his work mates helped direct traffic. Another man from Burger King brought out his first aid kit and a lifeguard (I remember his name was Adam), came to help me. It was such a relief to have some help and support.

Soon the ambulance arrived and I helped the paramedics settle the injured girl into the ambulance. I remember one of the paramedic’s saying – “If she didn’t get CPR when she did, there could have been a different result.” I felt so blessed to hear that.

After it was over I think I must have been in shock – the last few minutes had been surreal and now I was expected to get back to my life. I’m not the kind of guy, who lets emotions overtake me, however on this occasion I remember tears running down my face as I gave my wife an enormous hug.

It’s been a week since the accident happened, and for the first few days I wasn’t sleeping too well. I also found it really hard to talk about what happened. With the support from my pastor, family and work mates I ‘m doing a lot better. I’m extremely lucky to have some wonderful people in my life.

While I found the whole experience stressful, I also found an inner strength and resilience that I never knew I had. The accident also hit home that life is short and that each day is precious.

As for the girl in the accident, I hear she is getting stronger and stronger each day. One day, when she is up to it, I hope to meet her – just to give her a big hug.

 

Biace Poasa

 

Author: Geraint Martin

Geraint Martin was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Counties Manukau DHB in December 2006. It is one of the largest District Health Boards in New Zealand and services a population of half a million. He has significant experience over 30 years in national policy & in managing both primary and secondary care . Previously, he was Director of Health and Social Care Strategy at the Welsh Government .He authored a radical 10 year strategy of reform, including the successful “Saving 1000 lives” Campaign.Until 2004, he was CEO at Kettering General Hospital & had held senior positions in London & Birmingham.He has worked closely with clinicians in improving clinical standards,patient safety,chronic disease management & managing acute care to reduce hospital demand.In NZ, He has promoted clinical quality and leadership as central to improving patientcare. This has led to a significant increases in productivity and access, whilst maintaining financial balance. CMH has completed in 2014 a $500 m capital redevelopment programme, the largest in New Zealand. A central part of this is the establishment of Ko Awatea,the Centre for Innovation and Research which will underpin CMH as one of the the leading health systems in Australasia.In 2008, he chaired the Ministerial Review of Emergency Care in New Zealand, and in 2013 was an member of the Expert Advisory Panel on Health Sector Performance. Geraint has an MSc in Health Policy from Birmingham University .His post-graduate work has focused on health economics and Corporate Strategy . He is adjunct Professor of Healthcare Management at AUT and Victoria University, Wellington Elected in 2006 as a Companion of the Institute of Healthcare Management, previously he was an Associate Fellow at Birmingham University.He is is Chair of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, a member of the Institute of Directors, on the Board of the NZ Institute of Health Management & previously the Board of The NZ Health Quality and Safety Commission.

4 thoughts on “A heroic deed”

  1. So proud of you babe! You even made it on your works blog. Son is so lucky to have a man like you to call his dad. Loveyou x

  2. Another Maori wahine i agree all staff to recieve CPR training and refresher courses and role model the values of community support….and this supports the 2000 day programme logo. everybody everyday….kapai

  3. what a great incentive to get all of our CM Health employees trained to do CPR.. It leads into our vision to have our workforce model the values of community- all of us doing our bit every day….

  4. Awesome story from Biace – an everday hero and angel indeed. The girl was very lucky and am sure will be grateful for the rest of her life.

Leave a Reply

