A Whole Lottie Love

Many of you will know that I have a very strong belief in the importance of education and development as one of the key ways to change behaviour and achieve excellence. There’s one area of education, development and behaviour change that I’d particularly like your help with.

Last week, my wife Sam and I got a dog. Her name is Lottie and she’s a Border Terrier which we bought from the Wairarapa. As you can see from the picture, she’s unbelievably cute and as somebody who grew up with dogs, I’m really glad to have one in my family again.

One thing I’d forgotten, however, is the joy of training a puppy. 

Lottie - terrier or terror?
Lottie – terrier or terror?

Border Terriers are bred to be ratters, which became clear at precisely 6:30 this morning when Lottie took to stalking my shoe before pouncing on it as if it were a rat itself. Ten minutes later I was still chasing her around the house trying to get my shoe back so I could leave for work. And while I eventually reclaimed my footwear, I then had to spend another 10 minutes reassembling the furniture as she had upturned dining chairs and tipped over the bin in her frenzy.

The youngest of my children is 16 and I really had forgotten the ability of something so small to introduce chaos to your life and turn it completely upside down. Fun times! If anyone has any suggestions about how to housetrain or even train Lottie, I’d be extremely grateful to hear them (ceoblog@middlemore.co.nz). I’m sure there is a terrier hiding under the terror! 

While I’m talking about ‘A Whole Lottie Love’, I also want to share with you this wonderful letter of thanks from one of our patients, which I received earlier this week.

I would like to share my experience in Ward 8 and to let you know that you have such great staff there. My husband was admitted to Ward 8 in April due to a bowel obstruction. I was four months pregnant then. My husband had a single room and I was staying there every night with him.

We really experienced a different kind of service. Staff were really friendly, smiling, caring, concerned and they gave the best care to my husband and to me as well. Being stuck inside the hospital was not that boring for us because we saw nurses smiling and talking to us, asking how we were doing. We felt like we were family.

Rochelle is such a lovely, kind and very helpful charge nurse. I could go and talk to her anytime and share my dramas in life with her without hesitation. That’s how accommodating she was, even though she is busy.

I love Ward 8. From the cleaner, kitchen people, staff nurse to charge nurse, they are the best! I really feel that they deserve to be recognized so it motivates them to keep up the good work. They are really an asset to Middlemore Hospital.

By the way, last July I gave birth to a baby boy and Ward 8 staff visited me and gave baby presents. It was so touching. What wonderful people they are.

I couldn’t agree more. Our people are undoubtedly our greatest asset and make CM Health the great organisation that it is.

Enjoy your weekend.

Geraint

Author: Geraint Martin

Geraint Martin was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Counties Manukau DHB in December 2006. It is one of the largest District Health Boards in New Zealand and services a population of half a million. He has significant experience over 30 years in national policy & in managing both primary and secondary care . Previously, he was Director of Health and Social Care Strategy at the Welsh Government .He authored a radical 10 year strategy of reform, including the successful “Saving 1000 lives” Campaign.Until 2004, he was CEO at Kettering General Hospital & had held senior positions in London & Birmingham.He has worked closely with clinicians in improving clinical standards,patient safety,chronic disease management & managing acute care to reduce hospital demand.In NZ, He has promoted clinical quality and leadership as central to improving patientcare. This has led to a significant increases in productivity and access, whilst maintaining financial balance. CMH has completed in 2014 a $500 m capital redevelopment programme, the largest in New Zealand. A central part of this is the establishment of Ko Awatea,the Centre for Innovation and Research which will underpin CMH as one of the the leading health systems in Australasia.In 2008, he chaired the Ministerial Review of Emergency Care in New Zealand, and in 2013 was an member of the Expert Advisory Panel on Health Sector Performance. Geraint has an MSc in Health Policy from Birmingham University .His post-graduate work has focused on health economics and Corporate Strategy . He is adjunct Professor of Healthcare Management at AUT and Victoria University, Wellington Elected in 2006 as a Companion of the Institute of Healthcare Management, previously he was an Associate Fellow at Birmingham University.He is is Chair of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, a member of the Institute of Directors, on the Board of the NZ Institute of Health Management & previously the Board of The NZ Health Quality and Safety Commission.

1 thought on “A Whole Lottie Love”

  1. Pingback: Overwhelmed |

Leave a Reply

